Vote for Your All-time Favorite Caldecott Winner

Submissions for this form are closed.

Celebrating 75 years of the Caldecott MedalIt's almost time for the most anticipated yearly event for lovers of young adult and childrens' literature, the American Library Association's Youth Media Awards.

While you've probably heard of the Newbery and Caldecott Medals, did you know that the winners of these prestigious awards, along with 17 other book and media awards, are determined by librarians?

The announcement of the 2013 ALA Youth Media Awards will take place at 8 a.m. Pacific time on Jan. 28, from the Washington State Convention Center in Seattle, part of the American Library Association's 2013 Midwinter Meeting.

Want to be among the first to know this year's winners? The ALA will provide a free live webcast of the announcements, or you can follow #ALAyma on Twitter or the ALA Youth Media Awards Facebook page.

Learn more about the Caldecott Medal and the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of ALA, committed to creating a nation of readers, starting with the youngest.

This year is especially momentous, as it marks the 75th anniversary for the Randolph Caldecott Medal, named for the 19th-century English illustrator known for the action, vitality and humor of his picture books.

No other literary prize for children’s picture books has the economic significance of the Caldecott Medal. Receiving a Caldecott Medal practically guarantees that the winning title will remain in print and on library and bookstore shelves for decades to come.

In honor of the 75th anniversary of the Caldecott, we're asking readers to vote for their all-time favorite winner of the award.

Two names will be drawn at random from all those who vote. The winners will each receive a copy of the 2013 winning Caldecott title and a $25 Amazon gift card. Contest will remain open until 2:00 p.m. Central time, Sunday, Jan. 27, 2013.

Need help remembering your favorite Caldecott Medal-winning title? Use the links below to browse book covers of all winners: 1938-2012. 

1930s | 1940s | 1950s |1960s | 1970s | 1980s | 1990s | 2000s2010s

Already know which Caldecott is your favorite?

Enter now!

*Employees of the American Library Association and their families are ineligible.